Journaling.

I must admit that I sometimes struggle with my tarot journal. Why is it that so many of us do? Are we scared of not doing it well enough, even though we never share our journal with others? Are we scared it’s a waste of time, seeing how we rarely go back and read the entries? In this computerized era, do we feel uncomfortable writing by hand?

I don’t know, I have no good answer. But I know that when I’m feeling drained, down, and tired, sometimes the thought of “having to” journal after spreading the cards actually stops me from doing a reading.

Then every now and then I’m so happy that I do keep a tarot journal! I might not go back and read entries on a regular basis, but when I do I enjoy reading my interpretations (which are often influenced by intuition and not so much traditional meanings), and of course seeing how my future-focused readings actually turn out. Automatically I often scribble some words next to the future position, just a short “Yup, just right.” or “No, the card probably rather meant this and that.”.

So I appreciate my journal a lot. But today I’m sitting here, kind of tired, with my head a little too full of thoughts about life and its confusing paths, and I just feel like doing a reading or two without having to write a journal entry. Eh, I’m gonna be a rebel and just do it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Journaling.

  1. “Sometimes the thought of ‘having to’ journal after spreading the cards actually stops me from doing a reading.”

    Haha that made me laugh, because it has definitely happened to me before.

    I definitely keep up with my tarot journal and take care to log my own personal readings *because* I’ve learned so much by doing so. I’ll do a reading for myself that I think makes no sense and isn’t answering my question, but reluctantly I log it anyway. Then I forget about it. Life happens. Six months later, I happen to be going through the pages, see that reading, remember it, and all of a sudden, all the cards make sense. Not only that, but I pick up new insights *about* those specific tarot cards that further add to my overall knowledge and interpretation of those cards.

    So for me personally, that’s why the tarot journal is so important. So much of my tarot learning comes from my own journaling and documenting my own trial and error.

    Like

    1. LOL I’m glad I’m not the only one then… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I agree, those times when my tarot journal helps me I find that it REALLY helps me. And I also feel like I think more clearly when I write things down, and new ideas and feelings pop up.

      Like

Leave a comment